My First Tattoo

I finally got my first tattoo after wanting one for over a decade. It took me a long time, too long, to pull the trigger. I was apprehensive for the normal reasons: the permanence, indecision about what art to get, finding the right artist, etc. But there was one main factor, perfection. I am a perfectionist and few tattoos are perfect. Having something imperfect permanently drawn on my body scared me, a lot.

However, over the last year or so, I have been trying to release some of my need for perfection. Life is incredibly short; waiting on perfection wastes our time and holds us back. So, I decided it was time to get the damn thing! I looked for months for the perfect artist and shop…….see the problem? Once again, I was letting my need for perfection get in the way. So, while working in San Francisco last week, I decided I wasn’t leaving the city without my tattoo. I knew I wanted it done in SF because it has been a big part of my life for the last 1-2 years. On my last day there, I called Second Son Tattoo. Dave Ball, a guest artist from New York, was available. I checked out his work online; it looked solid. I walked to the shop and it too looked solid. I made the appointment.

Now, with all this build up, you’re probably expecting some big, colorful and interesting tattoo. Well, that’s not really the case. My tattoo is a simple geometric shape that I randomly drew months ago. I really liked its simplicity and symmetry (that perfection thing again). What’s cool is that after I drew it, I found out that it actually had a meaning, a meaning that resonated with me. The shape I had drawn was the alchemical symbol for air which is linked to Gemini, my astrological sign. Now, I’m not really into astrology but I thought it was a nice coincidence that made me even more confident in the design.

After work, I sat waiting in the shop browsing tattoo portfolios with my co-worker friends Sujay and Owen. I was a bit nervous but committed. Dave was really friendly and made me feel comfortable. He applied the stencil, I checked it out in the mirror and then sat down. He began tattooing and it did hurt. However, it’s the type of pain that makes feel alive(pardon the cliché). It’s right at the edge of too much and you know it’s temporary. After just a few minutes and some small talk, it was done.

I felt elated, changed, better.

Dave did a great job on my tattoo but it isn’t perfect and I’m ok with that. Actually, I’m better than ok. I feel like my tattoo’s imperfection makes me care a little less about perfection. I am forced to take it in and accept it, everyday. For that, I am a better person with this tattoo.

The permanence of tattoos was a barrier for me like a lot of people but now I see it differently. Before, the thought of having a tattoo “forever” seemed scary; now, it’s wonderful. I’ll have this mark and therefore the memories surrounding it for as long as I live. I’ve forgotten many things in my life but where, when and why I got this tattoo will not be forgotten.

I’m love my tattoo and can’t wait to get more.

 
30
Kudos
 
30
Kudos

Now read this

New Portfolio Site

As most designers would attest, creating a portfolio site is difficult because we continually have new ideas as we work that usually keep us from finishing. This has been my plight for the past couple of years. Well, that and the fact... Continue →